Image Alt
Most Fascinating Culture



France (French: `{`fʁɑ̃s`}`, officially the French Republic (French: République française, pronounced `{`ʁepyblik fʁɑ̃sɛːz`}`, is a country whose territory consists of metropolitan France in Western Europe and several overseas regions and territories. The metropolitan area of France extends from the Mediterranean Sea to the English Channel and the North Sea, and from the Rhine to the Atlantic Ocean. It is bordered by Belgium, Luxembourg and Germany to the northeast, Switzerland and Italy to the east, and Andorra and Spain to the south. The overseas territories include French Guiana in South America and several islands in the Atlantic, Pacific and Indian oceans. The country's 18 integral regions (five of which are situated overseas) span a combined area of 643,801 square kilometres (248,573 sq mi) and a total population of 67.08 million (as of March 2020).France is a unitary semi-presidential republic with its capital in Paris, the country's largest city and main cultural and commercial centre. Other major urban areas include Lyon, Marseille, Toulouse, Bordeaux, Lille and Nice. France, including its overseas territories, has the most number of time zones of any country, with a total of 12.

France has long been a global centre of artscience, and philosophy. It hosts the world’s fifth-largest number of UNESCO World Heritage Sites and is the leading tourist destination, receiving around 83 million foreign visitors annually, but if it counted the nights spent by non-residents tourist, France become the sixth country in world with 138 millions of nights, behind United StatesChinaSpainItaly and United Kingdom.  France is a developed country with the world’s seventh-largest economy by nominal GDP, and the tenth-largest by PPP. In terms of aggregate household wealth, it ranks fourth in the world. France performs well in international rankings of educationhealth carelife expectancy, and human development. France is considered a great power in global affairs, being one of the five permanent members of the United Nations Security Council with the power to veto and an official nuclear-weapon state. It is a leading member state of the European Union and the Eurozone, and a member of the Group of 7North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), the World Trade Organization (WTO), and La Francophonie.

Good to Know

Stretching about 1000 km from top to bottom, and about the same from side to side, France is the largest country in Western Europe. Take out the (not inconsiderable) overseas territories of La Reunion, Mayotte, Guadeloupe, Martinique and French Guiana, plus the island of Corsica, and the shape of mainland France almost perfectly fits into a six sided shape: hence, the Hexagon, a term beloved by French politicians and journalists alike. This is also rather convenient for French schoolchildren, who learn how to draw their country by first constructing a hexagon.



Visa Requirements

Not Needed for EU and USA/Canada Citizens.

Languages spoken


Currency Used


Area (km2)

640,679 km2


Since 2016 France is mainly divided into 18 administrative regions: 13 regions in metropolitan France (including the territorial collectivity of Corsica), and five located overseas. The regions are further subdivided into 101 departments, which are numbered mainly alphabetically. This number is used in postal codes and was formerly used on vehicle number plates. Among the 101 departments of France, five (French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Mayotte, and Réunion) are in overseas regions (ROMs) that are also simultaneously overseas departments (DOMs), enjoy exactly the same status as metropolitan departments and are an integral part of the European Union.

You don't have permission to register